turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Cash Gift from Parents Overseas

Hello,

My parents who are citizens of India as well as residents of India would like to send my wife and I a money transfer of around $50k as a gift to help us buy a home. My wife is a US citizen and I am a permanent resident of the US while still maintaining my citizenship in India. 

The money transfer will come straight out of my parents bank account into mine and my wife's joint bank account here. I would like to know the tax implications of the money received here. Since my parents have already paid taxes on the money in India, would we as receivers have to pay taxes on the gift money here as well? Do my parents will have any reporting requirements towards IRS?

It would also be beneficial to know if there is a yearly limit on how much we can receive in gift money as a joint couple who share a common bank account. 

Thank you in advance for your assistance.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am not convinced with the answer given by Turbo Tax Employee. The US tax rules (in best of my knowledge) says that If a foreign citizen/residents want to send a gift (cash etc) to a US Citizen/legal resident and amounts will be less than $100000 then there is no US tax requirement but in case amount exceed $100000 then US Citizen/legal resident have to report in Form No. "3520" to IRS. But I advise always file form 3520 (whatever the amount) to support of your bank account trail for future reference. There will be no tax at all in the above situation.

View solution in original post

5 Replies