Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

katax27

How to file taxes with 1042-S (income code 20, resident alien)

Hi, I'm a Korean F1 student with no W2 and only 1042-S working at my school. The income code is 20 and exemption code is 3a-04, 4a-16.

Due to US tax treaty with Korea and my income being under $2000, I have no income tax withheld. How should I report this and are there any other forms I need to fill out? Please be as detailed as possible because I have no idea what I'm doing. Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

Per instructions, for income code 20, it refers to Compensation during studying and training, you will enter as follows :

• After sign in / select Take me to my return /From the top, select tab Federal Taxes /Wages and Income / Scroll down to Less Common Income section.  Choose Miscellaneous Income.  Select the very first option at the top "Other income not already reported on a Form W-2 or Form 1099".   Then follow the prompts.
  • If you qualify for the treaty benefit, follow the above steps and enter the negative amount of $2,000.
  • Download and fill in a Form 8833 or 8843 from IRS to claim an exception.  https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8833.pdf or      https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8843.pdf
  • You cannot e-file.  You can still use the TurboTax program to prepare your tax forms, but you need to print them out and submit by mail along with the form 8833. 

wx1997
Returning Member