Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

davidmschrader
Returning Member

How do I account for Australia withholding tax...

I'm a photographer living in California.  I sell my work through various photo stock agencies.  One of those companies is Canva, which is located in Australia.  They have a tax treaty with the US that allows them to withhold taxes based on my yearly earnings .  They don't send me a 1099; they just send me a simple e-mail stating how much money I made and how much money was withheld.  For the latest period, they withheld $86.20; on their statement it's simply listed as "tax withheld."  I'm assuming they send this money to the IRS?  So how should I enter this using TurboTax?  The "Other Income" section?  But my main question is how can I get the credit for the tax paid?  Wouldn't it lower my tax amount due by $86.20?  Where/how do I enter this info using TurboTax?  Additionally, I'm a US citizen, and don't physically work in Australia.  The company has an "ABN" number; other than that, no other info other than basics like location, contact info, etc.  It's a small amount, but nowadays every dollar saved counts!  Thanks in advance to any advice given.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

I believe the amount withheld would be reported under "Foreign Tax Paid".

davidmschrader
Returning Member