turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

seoheekim

graduate stipend 1099-misc

Hi, 

As a graduate student, I have been both non-comp and comp worker in 2019 so I have both W-2 form and 1099-MISC. For both incomes, I have a lot of amount for federal income tax withheld and state tax withheld. 

Following the advice on putting fellowship information on Deductions and Credits section other than 1099 - MISC, I found that the amount that I am getting back has decreased. I believe that the amount must increase as I have tax already withheld on my 1099 MISC income, but there was not an area that makes me record the amount of tax withheld.

Would you help?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
MarilynG1
Employee Tax Expert

No, you must enter your 1099-Misc as Income.  Type '1099misc' in the Search area, then click on 'Jump to 1099misc'.

Follow the prompts in TurtboTax to indicate the type of income (stipend).  

You are able to enter any Taxes Paid on the entry screens for both W-2 and 1099-Misc.   On the 1099-Misc, check the box 'My form has other info in Box 1-18' to open the entry area for Tax Paid. 

If you expect to continue receiving this income, you can report it as Self-Employment Income on Schedule C and deduct Expenses against it. 

If you will not continue receiving the income, click the link for instructions on how to report it as Other Taxable Income.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
seohee

Thank you for your reply: