Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

wallsn-11

Can I get help with an unexpected charge from a health insurance company that billed me even though I had another provider all year? I now owe taxes due to this issue.

So I had Caresource in 2020 when I returned to the us and couldn’t afford insurance. I became a teacher in 2021 and got “real” health insurance through Humana in 2022 and was using them - or so I thought- all year. Apparently I was being billed for various things like hospital visits and prescriptions through Caresource at times (even though I canceled that insurance) and I now owe almost 2k in taxes due to this discrepancy. I’m dumbfounded and unsure what to do. As a teacher my salary doesn’t allow me to repay taxes especially in the amount more than my paycheck. I need help, fast! I filed an extension hoping I could clear it up with no luck. Any advice on what I can do?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

Can I get help with an unexpected charge from a health insurance company that billed me even though I had another provider all year? I now owe taxes due to this issue.

@wallsn-11  Please restate the time sequence a little clearer and when these hospital statys were. 

Regardless of when the bills were issused to you, if you had insurance on the date your were hospitalized, the bills should be submitted to that insurance carrier for payment.

Also, insurance carriers don't charge you for medical bills.  They might not pay the entire bill (as you are responsible for deductible and co-pays), but they would only charge you premium.  Please clarify what you mean that another carier billed you,