Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

essing01

Is it an offence to claim my child as a dependent if he lives abroad with his father?

He has been living abroad with his father since we separated in 2008. He is now 12 years old and his father is a citizen of another country. I have been claiming my son as a dependent since 2008 and getting tax refunds even though I don't contribute financially towards him and he does not live with me. Am I committing an offence?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Is it an offence to claim my child as a dependent if he lives abroad with his father?

Yes.  You don’t qualify to claim your child under either set of rules.  You may not get caught, since the other parent does not file a US tax return.  But you are breaking the law.  

View solution in original post

10 Replies

You've been doing  this for 10 years. Why are you asking about it now?

You are asking from a foreign country yourself. Is this about a USA tax return?
essing01

It is a USA tax return. I am asking for a friend, the child's father found out about the taxes and wants to report it to IRS as fraud.

and that certainly is his right....Tax fraud is a crime.

The IRS has no time limit if it can prove civil or criminal fraud.

Yes.  You don’t qualify to claim your child under either set of rules.  You may not get caught, since the other parent does not file a US tax return.  But you are breaking the law.  

essing01

Thanks, I am actually asking for a friend of mine. The child's father found out about the taxes and wants to report it to IRS as fraud.