turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Am I an independent contractor and will I get penalties?

I work for a cleaning company that has labeled me as an independent contractor. The work is on average 3-5 hours per day, 2 days a week, at 40.00$ per job regardless of time worked, paid in cash. I have worked for them for about 4 years now and have not gotten a 1099 from them 3 of those 4 years. My boss is now trying to fire me for false reasons and I want to know what consequences the company can face as well as myself and if i am actually a independent contractor.  

I also never received any hiring information, contract to sign, or anything denoting if I am an employee or not. There was also no application process. The one 1099 that I received was 3 month after the end of filing deadline and incurred a massive penalty for me.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

The IRS considers undocumented cash income (no W-2 or 1099-MISC), for work performed, to be self employment income. Enter at "Business Income & Expenses" and TurboTax (TT) will complete Schedule C or C-EZ for you and allow you to deduct any expenses associated with this income. You'll also have to pay self employment tax (social security) on any profits greater than $400. You report the income from your own records. If you get a 1099-Misc; it’s still reported the same way.

You should have been reporting all that income for the last 4 years. 

Are you an independent contractor? From what you describe, probably yes. It’s a gray area and the topic has been around a long time. See. http://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc762.html