turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

TH2

1042-S for a resident alien: How do I enter the amount of tax withheld to avoid getting taxed twice?

I've been on F1 visa for over 5 years so I'm a resident alien. I received 1042-S (income code 15) and there is tax withheld. I gathered that I can enter the income reported on 1042-S as fellowship under educational expenses. But where can I enter the amount of tax withheld so that I can avoid getting taxed twice or get a return?

Thank you! 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

1042-S for a resident alien: How do I enter the amount of tax withheld to avoid getting taxed twice?

Yes, you do enter the income as a fellowship. The withhheld taxes you can enter under credits-deductions -> estimated and other taxes withheld.

You should file on paper to add the copy of the 1042s.

View solution in original post

16 Replies
tax-point

A friend has received a form 1042-S (Income Code 52), she lives in the United States legally now as a political refugee, how can you enter the data in this way 1042-S in turbo tax? The income is interest on the shares of a company.
tax-point

I need help please

since when is your friend in the US?

I'm 70 years old. Am a US citizen, who resides in Israel for the past 16 years. This year I  withdrew $8000 from my IRA. CITI sent me an 1042-S for $2400 FTW. How do I report it on my  Federal Tax return?

Thanks

You recommend paper filing and adding the paper form to it. However on the form itself it says not to include it with the return?

Yes, you do enter the income as a fellowship. The withhheld taxes you can enter under credits-deductions -> estimated and other taxes withheld.