Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jmacygin

Why cant i get through line 4 on form 8862

i CAN'T FINISH MY RETURN BECAUSE IT SAYS LINE 4 ON FORM8862 NEEDS TO BE BLANK BUT I CANT CHANGE IT.  I AM A STUDENT AND LIVE WITH MY MOM.  I HAVE NO EXPENSES

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies

WilliamV

Line 4 asks if you or your spouse (if filing jointly) could be claimed as a qualifying child of another taxpayer. If your answer to this question is no (you cannot claim the EIC if the answer to this question is yes), I can show you how to update this information so that the Line 4 boxes are blank: 

When logged into TurboTax Online: 

1.) Federal

2.) Deductions & Credits

3.) Click Show More next to You and Your Family

4.) Click Revisit next to Earned Income Credit

5.) When you get to Do any of these uncommon situations apply? review your answers

Has "I can be claimed as a qualifying child by someone elsebeen checked

If so, uncheck this box. This should clear out your response on Line 4 of your Form 8862 Information to Claim Certain Credits After Disallowance. 

If this does not resolve the problem, kindly let me know in the comments below so that we can continue troubleshooting. 

i’m having the same issue and this did not resolve the problem for me . any other solutions or suggestions ? 

VictoriaD75
Expert Alumni

In the My Info section of your return, have you indicated that you can be claimed as a dependent by someone else? Click Edit to the right of your name in My Info to review this area.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

This didn’t work, anything else maybe?