turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

eweh33

I purchased a Kawasaki Mule UTV this year. It is used to transport customers while hunting. Is this a deductible expense? Is a percentage of it?

I am a salesman for a company, and not self employed.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
Carl
Level 15

I purchased a Kawasaki Mule UTV this year. It is used to transport customers while hunting. Is this a deductible expense? Is a percentage of it?

From the way in interpret your post, this is not an expense. It's a business asset and will be entered as such in the Business Assets section of your tax return. Then it will be depreciated over time, and the program will take care of that, based on the data you enter about the asset.

I think you can deduct the operating expenses similar to business use of a car, and that would include depreciation.  But, you're going to need a lot of records.  You can't use the standard mileage method since this is not a passenger vehicle.  So you first need the mileage or # of hours (does it have an odometer or hour meter?) used for work and the mileage or hours used for personal use, and the mileage or hours has to be recorded in some kind of reliable form; a diary, log book, or app, not merely remembered later or guessed at.  Then add up all your operating costs (gas, maintenance, insurance, repairs and depreciation, but not loan payments) and you can deduct a percent of those costs equal to the percent of business use.  

These expenses will be itemized deductions for work expenses subject to the 2% rule, so depending on the actual amount, you might not get much benefit.

Carl
Level 15