turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rpm1967

What is the best way to deprec. tractor trailer so that i deduct less this year and more in future years when I have more income? vehicle or bus. asset? 50% 100% or 179?

I'm an owner operator. Bought the tractor in December. Lease the Trailer. Only had a month's worth of business income. What is the best way to depreciate the tractor? As a vehicle? As a business asset? What is the difference between 50% and 100% Special depreciation and 179? I would rather deduct less this year due to lack of income and deduct more over the next few years when my income is higher. The tractor will be paid off in 3 years. I do not plan to resell it. Cost of tractor $53000. Blue book is $102,000.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
MichaelMc

What is the best way to deprec. tractor trailer so that i deduct less this year and more in future years when I have more income? vehicle or bus. asset? 50% 100% or 179?

The tractor, by IRS rule, has a 3 - 5 year useful life. You will want to depreciate it over 5 years.

Entering your information in TurboTax, treat it as a business asset, so the depreciation calculations are activated. Do not select any of the options for special depreciation or Sec. 179.