turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Taking Foreign Tax Credit on Income exceeding Foreign Earned Income Exclusion threshold

Hello,

I am a foreign resident and have been claiming Foreign Earned income exclusion for past several years for the income I earn in the foreign country. I have also been claiming Foreign Tax credit (FTC) on passive income (bank interest) earned from foreign bank.

This year my income is more than the exclusion threshold of $105,900 (single filing). I read through the forum and I understand that I can claim FTC on income that exceeds this threshold. However I am not clear how this can be done in Turbo Tax.

Do I need to call out this income  exceeding the threshold somewhere under wages and then go fill the Foreign Tax Credit section (form 1116) OR should I just go to Foreign Tax Credit and just fill in this excess amount along with the taxes? I would really appreciate your response.

PS: apologies for the long winded question but I wanted to give enough context.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

Taking Foreign Tax Credit on Income exceeding Foreign Earned Income Exclusion threshold

When you complete all of the foreign earned income exclusion screens, the software will keep track of the amount of foreign wages that were not excluded by the foreign earned income exclusion.

To input your foreign taxes, see the following steps:

Proceed to the foreign tax credit section of the return 

1. First screen say yes you paid foreign taxes 

2. Go through a couple of screens, Tell Us About Your Foreign Taxes say None of these apply - if they do not apply

3. Click you want the credit