turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Foreign Tax Credit Carryovers

I am new to Turbotax. My prior tax returns were done by a CPA who I am no longer able to afford.  In the last tax return, it appears I had a Foreign Tax Credit of $6,750.   This is noted in the "Foreign Tax Foreign Tax Credit Carryover Utilization Worksheet". I have a couple of questions: (1) What is the Foreign Tax Credit and how can I use it?; (2) Do Foreign Tax Credit's expire?; (3) If I don't use it for the next year, can I use it in a subsequent year? Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

1.  If you paid or accrued foreign taxes to a foreign country or U.S. possession and are subject to U.S. tax on the same income, you may be able to take either a credit or an itemized deduction for those taxes.  Foreign tax credit is used to offset double taxation.

2.  If you can't claim a credit for the full amount of qualified foreign income taxes you paid or accrued in the year, you're allowed a carryback and/or carryover of the unused foreign income tax. You can carry back for one year and then carry forward for 10 years the unused foreign tax. For more information on this topic (including taxes paid or accrued in years before 2007), see Publication 514, Foreign Tax Credit for Individuals.

3. Yes, if you do not use your foreign tax credit carry forward this year, you can use it in the next 9 years if you have foreign earned income (foreign business trips, for example).

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

18 Replies
KarenJ2