Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

deepark
Returning Member

Dentist as W2, paying for my own health, malpractice and disability insurances. Can they be tax deductible?

Hello,

I am a dentist in NY - working in two different offices but both as an employee (W2).

Neither of the offices pay/offer health insurance, malpractice insurance or disability insurance

but still require employees to have them. I will be paying nearly 10k for all three insurances per year,

paid separately from my paycheck, after tax. I was wondering if these expenses can be tax deductible.

I'd appreciate any advice! Thank you. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

Dentist as W2, paying for my own health, malpractice and disability insurances. Can they be tax deductible?

If you are a W-2 employee then you cannot deduct any job-related expenses on your federal tax return.   You may be confused about using the cost of health insurance on a Schedule C if one is self-employed.   If you are a W-2 employee, then you can enter the premiums you pay for health insurance on a Schedule A if you are itemizing deductions. It can be entered as a medical expense.  But the medical expense deduction is very hard to use.

https://ttlc.intuit.com/questions/4482873-which-federal-tax-deductions-have-been-suspended-by-tax-re...

MEDICAL EXPENSES