Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Nick1885
Returning Member

Can I submit a homestead credit if I lived in 2 rentals in 2020? [Wisconsin]

Hi everyone,

I'm a student, which means I often don't stay in the same rental unit for multiple school years. At least in my area, barely anyone does. I lived in one rental unit from June 1st, 2019 - May 22nd 2020. I lived in another from June 1st, and currently reside here.

For the homestead credit, I noticed it only lets me put in the information from one of my units, is this how it works? I'm in Wisconsin if that helps any.

I lived in both units in 2020, and paid rent for both. I don't know the laws surrounding this, so any help would be much appreciated! Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Are you an undergraduate college student? I ask, because more than likely your homestead is your parent's house, where ever that may be.

If, in 2020 you were:

- Under the age of 23 on Dec 31 of the tax year, and;

- Enrolled as a full time student for "any" "one" semester that started in the tax year, and

- Enrolled at an accredited institution, and;

- Enrolled in a course of student that will lead to a degree *or* credentialed certification, and

-you did not provide more than half of your own support for the entire tax year (see below for support), then:

Your parents qualify to claim you as a dependent on their tax return. Therefore your "home" is your parent's house.

Support: