Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts Retirement/Life Events! >> Event happening TOMORROW!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2021 Form 1116 Schedule B (carryovers) can't efile

Nah, not trying to get away with anything; just trying to understand the rule.  Thanks for your help.  Have to decide if it's worth sacrificing a minimal credit and e-filing or keeping the credit and using snail mail.  This is my first time using Turbotax for my personal returns and I'm not pleased.....

I've used TurboTax many times. I'm never pleased. 😎

I don't think you can skip taking it, but what you could try doing is efile without it, and then file an amended return on paper to take the credit carryover.  Since the IRS backlog of unprocessed paper returns is so large, I feel it is better to have an amended return stuck in the backlog than an original return.  I may have to do this with a 1041 Trust return, since it appears that Turbotax isn't planning to add the 1116 Schedule B to Turbotax Business.

3/3/22 update says form will be available in future update when I run a review of my taxes. However form availability on tt website says paper form avail on 3/31 and unsupported on efile, so still not sure which answer is correct

I am also interested in a workaround.  Wondering if there is a way to e-file without the form and then just mail it in as a "missing form" once it becomes available on 3/31.

Waited till today (3/3/2022) for the update to Form 1116 only to find that Schedule B is not there and I have no choice but to file by mail.  

TT unable to efile.JPG