Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Must I pay recapture of Sec. 179 on a vehicle (100% bs on Sch C) when I retire after 5 yrs even if vehicle is fully depreciated? If I keep for personal after I retire?

I want to take Sec 179 Depreciation on my newly purchased 100% bs vehicle (Sch C) but am worried when I retire in 5 yrs from my business, will I have to pay recapture on the 179. It will be fully depreciated but I will continue to use for personal use. Should I take the 179 now or use Std Mileage. This is my first year of using the new truck.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Coleen3
Intuit Alumni

Must I pay recapture of Sec. 179 on a vehicle (100% bs on Sch C) when I retire after 5 yrs even if vehicle is fully depreciated? If I keep for personal after I retire?

You must recapture depreciation for your vehicle, if you sell it before it's useful life is over. If you keep it for the useful life, then your Section 179 deduction is spread over the correct amount of time.

View solution in original post

16 Replies

What if I continue to use in my retirement from my business my vehicle for my personal use. Say after 5 years of fully depreciating my vehicle, it is now worth around $10,000. Will I have to pay recapture on the value of the vehicle to me even if I have fully depreciated it?
Coleen3
Intuit Alumni

You must recapture depreciation for your vehicle, if you sell it before it's useful life is over. If you keep it for the useful life, then your Section 179 deduction is spread over the correct amount of time.