Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is this deductible?

I'm an independent contractor who drives cars from point A to point B for a transport company.  Can I deduct the cost of going from my home to the pick up point, whether it's gas in my car, Uber, bus, air, etc.? The pick up point could be five miles from home, or it could be 1,000 miles from home.  Same question for going from the delivery location back home.  

A lot of information about this on the internet talks about "driving from a home office" to determine deductibilty. I do not have a home office, I don't think.  I simply have a PC from which I access the company's data base to find drives.  I use the computer, desk, etc. mostly for personal things. Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

Is this deductible?

The travel  to pick up the car in your locality ("Tax home") is non deductible commuting. The cost to get to an "out of town" location is deductible. So, in your example, the 5 mile pick up is not deductible, but the 1000 miles is. The IRS has no fixed mileage rule for what is out of town. Out of town is outside your metropolitan area. 

So, yes you do qualify for #2.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Is this deductible?