turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tax_is

International student and no longer in USA, how do I file?

I was an international student on F1 visa (visa is still valid) and worked on-campus (as part time) while in college and then after college worked full time for about an year. When I was in college I filed my tax returns (in 2014 and 2015) but din't file while I was working full time i.e. 2016 and 2017. 

I left my full time job and came back to my home country permanently in 2016. 

1.) Should I file tax returns in case I get any money back? 

2.) What if I owe the IRS money and don't file?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

As a student on an F-1 visa for the first 4 years you are considered a non-resident and need to file a form 1040-NR non-resident tax return.  Turbotax does not support non-resident tax returns so if you used turbotax, you did it wrong and you need to file amended returns using form 1040-NR.  Starting your fifth year of being in the US, you use the substantial presence test to determine if you are a resident or not for tax purposes.  https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/substantial-presence-test

However, if you were not complying with the terms of your Visa (students on F-1 visas generally can't have "full time work" unless it is through their school) then you would file as a resident or as a dual-status alien.  Turbotax doesn't support dual-status either and you may need professional assistance to get your tax filings straightened out.