Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Jay86

If I use the standard mileage deduction do I need to account for the gas purchases I was reimbursed for? If so where should it be entered?

My standard mileage deduction is just over $5,000 for the year (I traveled almost 10,000 miles for work). When this is calculated in the TurboTax software my federal refund only increases by $350?

If I enter the gas purchases I was reimbursed for ($790) my federal refund ends up only being $150 more than it was before I even started entering my job related expenses.

This is my first year in my new job and I was under the impression that driving nearly 10,000 miles for work in my personal car would allow me much more of an increase in my refund? Am I missing something here?

Thanks so much

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

If I use the standard mileage deduction do I need to account for the gas purchases I was reimbursed for? If so where should it be entered?

Are the reimbursements taxable or non taxable ?
Jay86

Non taxable

So to start, if you deduct the standard mileage rate, you must subtract non-taxable reimbursement at the end.  (You do not need to subtract taxable reimbursement.)  If you drove 10,000 miles, that's $5400 deduction, then subtract the $790 leaves you with $4610.  That goes on form 2106 along with any other un-reimbursed business expenses.

But then, that deduction is subject to the 2% rule.  It is reduced by 2% of your income.  If your adjusted gross income is $60,000, then 2% of that is $1200, so your deduction is reduced to $3410.