Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Sparkyte

I work for a foreign company, but live in the United States. How do I file this?

I work for a foreign company, but I am a resident of the United States.

How do I file this?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
DS30

I work for a foreign company, but live in the United States. How do I file this?

It depends on 2 things:

1. If you are a US citizen or resident alien (as opposed to a nonresident alien).
  2. Where the work you did was performed (either in the USA or in a foreign location) regardless of where the company you work for is located. Remote work performed in the USA is considered US-source income.

If you are a US citizen or resident alien for all of 2016 and the work is performed in the US, you will report this income (in USD) as US-sourced income. You will file a Form 1040 (or 1040EZ/1040A). You will be able to take a Foreign Tax Credit for any foreign taxes paid on this income. 

You can enter your wages (if no W-2 is going to be sent) under other miscellaneous income:

1. Click on the “Federal Taxes” tab ("Personal" tab in TurboTax Home & Business)
  2. Next click on “Wages and Income”
  3. Next click on "jump to full list" (or “I’ll choose what I work on” or "see more income")
  4. Scroll down the screen until to come to the section “Less Common Income”
  5. Choose "show more", then Miscellaneous Income
  6. Choose "Other Income not already reported on a Form W-2 or Form 1099 " 
  7. Select - "Yes" for "Other Wages Received"
  8. After 3 screens, select "Yes" for "Any other earned income".