Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

glpicara

I started a small business in 2020 but do not have a 1099 from company, I had expenses from my own pocket, can I add those to my deductions?

I am an independent consultant for a company, I had out of pocket expenses to grow my business but did not receive a 1099 from the company.
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

I started a small business in 2020 but do not have a 1099 from company, I had expenses from my own pocket, can I add those to my deductions?

You can deduct business expenses once your business is operational. Expenses before that are considered "startup" expenses.

It sounds like your business was operational in 2020 even if you had no clients. You said you had out-of-pocket expenses to grow your business.

For more information about start-up costs see Startup costs: Understanding the totals, taxes, and timing

One other thing to consider, the IRS wants you to show a profit in three of five years on a running basis. If you expect losses in the future, it may be better to "preserve" one year of losses in 2020 in favor of claiming a larger loss in a future year.

When the IRS Classifies Your Business as a Hobby

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

If you are self-employed (an independent contractor) you are required to keep accurate records of your income and expenses, even if you don't get tax paperwork from the companies that hire you.