Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

megan2

I'm an adjunct professor and receive a W-2, what write-offs can I claim and which form do I use?

I drive about 120 miles a week from my home, to different campuses.  I have an office at home that is strictly for working.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
NicoleU

I'm an adjunct professor and receive a W-2, what write-offs can I claim and which form do I use?

Commuting expenses between your home and main workplace are never deductible, even if your workplace is far away or you conduct business or haul work supplies during your commute. (A few states allow you to deduct certain commuter related expenses, but that has to be done on your state return.)

However, if you travel to and from a temporary work location (where your assignment is expected to last no more than 1 year) outside your metropolitan area, you can claim commuting expenses. You can also claim commuting expenses to and from a temporary work site, regardless of location, as long as your main workplace is elsewhere.

For more information, please see this IRS link: https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc514.html

To enter travel within TurboTax, please see this link: https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/4800418

Also, per the IRS "Whether you're self-employed, an employee, or a partner, you may be able to deduct certain expenses for the part of your home that you use for business."

The home office must be used regularly and exclusively:

- As the main job location, or
 - As a place to meet with clients in the normal course of the job, or
 - In connection with the job if the home office is not attached to the home