Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm a real estate professional and file a schedule C. In 2016 I purchased a house to flip and plan to sell in 2017. Am I able to claim expenses for my flip in 2016?

I'm currently a real estate agent doing typical buy/sell residential. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
HelenaC

I'm a real estate professional and file a schedule C. In 2016 I purchased a house to flip and plan to sell in 2017. Am I able to claim expenses for my flip in 2016?

[Answer edited to remove investment treatment 3-1-17 10:31 am PST]

No, generally you can't claim expenses for major renovations/improvements. Property improvements get added to your property's cost basis. 

When you sell the asset, your cost basis gets subtracted from the money you collect from the sale. So instead of paying tax on the full amount, you only get taxed on the profit (the selling price minus the cost basis).

Capital Expenses, Improvements, Renovations: 

Because you are investing in a property with the goal to improve it, the money you pay to buy and repair the house are considered capital expenditures. The IRS allows you to deduct capital expenditures from your taxable income, but only after you sell the property. Generally, the capital expenditures will offset a majority of the profit gained from the flip and reduce your taxable income.