turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

dvorak1

I have been filing my photography as a business for a few years with a small loss every year. What are some concerns about filing it as a hobby this year?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
IreneS
Intuit Alumni

I have been filing my photography as a business for a few years with a small loss every year. What are some concerns about filing it as a hobby this year?

If your business does not show a profit after a few years, the IRS may question if it's a business or a hobby, but profit is not the only consideration.  This article on the IRS website offers 9 factors to consider:  How do you distinguish between a business and a hobby?

The main (perhaps only) difference, tax wise, between a business and a hobby is that with a hobby you can deduct expenses only up to the amount of the income

To decide whether your photography is a business or a hobby, you should also read this short article on the IRS website:  Hobby or Business? IRS Offers Tips to Decide   If, after reading what the IRS has to say, you consider your photography a business, continue to treat it that way on your tax return and include it on a Schedule C.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
dvorak1