turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident of Minnesota, so I will be taking the standard deduction for Federal, but itemizing for my State return. Can Turbo Tax process that?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JulieCo

I am a resident of Minnesota, so I will be taking the standard deduction for Federal, but itemizing for my State return. Can Turbo Tax process that?

Yes, TurboTax will allow you to use the standard deduction on the federal return and itemize on the Minnesota return, since this is allowed by the state of MN.  Note, that since you want to itemize for the Minnesota return, be sure to enter your itemized expenses in that section of TurboTax when working on your federal form.  This information can then be pulled to your form for Minnesota to create Schedule M1SA to itemize your deductions on the state return. 

Note, that if your itemized deductions allowed for Minnesota are under the standard deduction amount, TurboTax will use the standard deduction for Minnesota as well. 

The standard deduction amounts available to taxpayers on their Minnesota 2018 return are:
• Married filing jointly or surviving spouse: $13,000
• Head of household filing: $9,550
• Single or married filing separately: $6,500
The standard deduction amount for an individual who may be claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer cannot exceed
the greater of:
•$1,050 or
• The sum of $350 and the individual’s earned income.
The additional amounts added to the above listed standard deductions for taxpayers that are elderly or blind are:
• Single: $1,600
• Married: $1,300