turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

godeban

I moved to US from UK on Mar'17. working in US since Nov'17 on non-immigrant visa. Received UK income first 4 months of '17. How to declare the foreign income to IRS?

I moved to US on H4 visa on March 2017 and living here since. 

Earned UK income for Jan, Feb, Mar and Apr'17. UK tax paid on the income.

Received H1B visa status on Oct'17 and started working in US since Nov'17. received W2 for 2017.

Does turbo tax support dual-status aliens? I'm a resident alien on the last day of the tax year i.e. I'm in the US since Mar'17.

My wife(on H1B visa) was a resident alien for all of 2017. can I submit as "married filing jointly"?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KarenJ
Intuit Alumni

I moved to US from UK on Mar'17. working in US since Nov'17 on non-immigrant visa. Received UK income first 4 months of '17. How to declare the foreign income to IRS?

Turbo Tax does not support dual status returns.  However, since your wife was a resident alien for all of 2019 and you were a nonresident at the beginning of 2019 and a resident at the end of the year, you can make an election to file married filing jointly.  The election should be stated on a page attached to the tax return.  You will need to create this page outside of TurboTax and mail your federal return this year. Please see attached for more assistance