Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to claim the US-China tax treaty for 2018 tax return?

I am an international student pursuing a PhD degree. My tax status is resident alien The US-China tax treaty Article 20 states students have some credits for tax. How could I claim it? I know that I have to include the form 8833 on my tax return generated by TurboTax. But how should I do that? Does Turbo Deluxe supports form 8833?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies
LinaJ2018
Intuit Alumni

Here are the instructions:

• Report your full income under the appropriate section. Then enter the treaty-exempt amount as negative amount (e.g. -5000) under Federal Taxes / Less Common Income / Miscellaneous Income 1099A, 1099C / Other Reportable Income
  • Download and fill in a Form 8833 from IRS to claim an exception.  https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8833.pdf
  • You cannot e-file.  You can still use the TurboTax program to prepare your tax forms, but you need to print them out and submit by mail along with the form 8833. 

chaos_mm

I am also a PhD student. When I enter the W-2 form information, I do not have a section for Federal Taxes. And the subsections you mentioned. I only have a section for Less common items. And there are specific box items corresponding to the W-2 forms. Could you please give me some advice of how to claim the Tax Treaty? Thanks!
chaos_mm

I find it. Thanks
claireli11
Returning Member

hey where did you find it? I only see the section for "Less common items" which doesn't allow me to enter negative numbers
chaos_mm