Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Jtrapp098

I am a youth pastor of a church so I am not "self employed" and needing help on answering the question about "Clergy self-employment tax".

I am part-time and have no housing allowance.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a youth pastor of a church so I am not "self employed" and needing help on answering the question about "Clergy self-employment tax".

If you are a pastor and performing religious duties, then you are self-employed for income tax purposes and you should not have social security and medicare taxes withheld.  You will still receive a W-2 as a common law employee but boxes 3-6 will be blank.  If they are not blank, then your employer is treating you as a regular employee (like a secretary or maintenance person) who does have SS and medicare tax withheld even when working for a church.

If you check the box in turbotax for religious wages, but you have box 4 and box 6 taxes, turbotax will get confused and not do your taxes properly.

Your church may be paying you as a lay employee even though your title is "pastor."  Titles are not important, what makes you a clergy person for IRS purposes is a 4 point test; you administer the sacraments, are considered to be a religious leader by your church, conduct worship services, and have management responsibility in the control, conduct, or maintenance of your congregation.  You don't have to meet all 4 tests strictly, but those are the factors.  If your church is paying you as a lay person, then don't check the religious wages box.  You would subject to the normal tax rules for ordinary workers instead of the special clergy rules.