Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Hi. I'm a New Jersey resident filing married filing separately. For the NJ property tax paid entry, do I enter the entire property tax paid or the 1/2 I paid?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

Hi. I'm a New Jersey resident filing married filing separately. For the NJ property tax paid entry, do I enter the entire property tax paid or the 1/2 I paid?

If you and your spouse both lived in the home, you enter half of the total property tax.

JotikaT2
Employee Tax Expert

As rjs posted above, you would only be entitled to half of the deduction or credit if you lived in the same home.

Property tax credit

Property taxes

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Hi, all. Thanks to all who responded.

My apologies for the post, but the limit to the length of the question made the question a bit unclear. I was aware that in my simple situation I could only claim one-half of the property taxes paid. I was unsure about how TT handled the entry.

It turns out that in my simple case (married filing separately, own a single-family home with my spouse, and pay property taxes), I should enter the ENTIRE amount of property taxes paid. TT uses one-half for its calculation, which is correct. If I enter my half of the taxes paid, TT will use one-fourth of the property taxes paid, which is incorrect. I was confused when I found that the property tax deduction on my pro-forma married-filing-jointly return had a different deduction than the sum of the married-filing-separately deductions. My confusion led to my question.