turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rmatto

I am a NH resident and work in MA. This year I sold a rental property and have to pay capital gains. Do I also have to pay capital gains tax in MA on the NH property?

I live in NH and work in MA, so I pay income tax, but it looks like TT is including the capital gains in the MA earnings even thought the property isn't located in MA.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies
maglib
Level 11

I am a NH resident and work in MA. This year I sold a rental property and have to pay capital gains. Do I also have to pay capital gains tax in MA on the NH property?

see screen shots below.   

**I don't work for TT. Just trying to help. All the best.
***Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post and that I solved your question
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
I am NOT an expert and you should confirm with a tax expert.
maglib
Level 11

No you only pay taxes to the non-resident state on income sourced to the non-resident state. When going throught the MA interview there will be a section where you should be allocating out capital gains, dividends, interest, etc.

As long as you answered the ADJUSTMENT section  part Health Care Coverage , additions and deductions portion of the MASS interview., it should calculate correctly.

***Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post and that I solved your question
rmatto

There was a section to exclude the capital gains from MA, which I checked the box for, but when I get to the overview for the MA state taxes, it is still including the capital gains amount in the gross MA earnings causing my taxes due to be higher than it should.
maglib
Level 11