Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Will turbotax desktop let me file two returns for the same state (NJ)

This a follow up to the following post:  https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/state-taxes/discussion/ny-and-nj-source-income-and-moved-from-ny-t...

Due to a mid year move from NY to NJ, I've concluded I need to file both a non-resident NJ return (for NJ source rental income earned while I was a NY resident) and a NJ part-year resident return (for all income earned while I was an NJ resident).   This is in addition to the NY part-year resident return I need to file for all income earned before the move.

How do I prepare/file two separate NJ returns in Turbotax desktop, and how do I ensure that it is calculating all credits for properly for taxes paid to the other state?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies

If you are using CD/Download version you can prepare any number of tax returns, with whatever resident non-resident or part-resident status you can figure out. Good luck.

NJ requires that you report all your income on your tax return.

If you file two tax returns with partial income, you will just have two incorrect tax returns for NJ to audit.

File a part-year resident return; A part year resident return provides for reporting income during period of NJ residency and during period of Non-Residency