Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Should two states get to tax a capital gain if I was a year round resident in one

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
TerryA
Intuit Alumni

Should two states get to tax a capital gain if I was a year round resident in one

If the property was in another state, such as real estate, then that state gets to tax the gain as well as does your resident state. This doesn't apply to intangibles such as stocks, etc.

Your resident TT/state (generally - it's the other way round for a handful of states) will prepare the other state tax credit for you for some or all of the nonresident state's tax on that gain that your resident state is taxing also. Prepare the nonresident state first, then your resident state.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
TerryA
Intuit Alumni

If the property was in another state, such as real estate, then that state gets to tax the gain as well as does your resident state. This doesn't apply to intangibles such as stocks, etc.

Your resident TT/state (generally - it's the other way round for a handful of states) will prepare the other state tax credit for you for some or all of the nonresident state's tax on that gain that your resident state is taxing also. Prepare the nonresident state first, then your resident state.

Do you mind explaining this further? Why would it make sense that a citizen has to pay double state tax on physical real estate property? Thank you.
TerryA
Intuit Alumni