turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

H H
Level 2

Sale of unimproved land

I inherited land from my father in 2001.  It's value at the time was $1,800.  I kept records, and the property, until 2019, when I sold it for $17,400.  The property is in Virginia and I am a New Mexico resident. The settlement was in Virginia.  Do I have to pay state taxes on the sale (I have already computed the net gain) in both states?

If I do have to pay Virginia as well as New Mexico taxes, can I add the cost of downloading an additional state into the net gain equation?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
H H
Level 2

Sale of unimproved land

Just to be clear.  As a New Mexico resident, I add the investment income in my federal taxes under the investment header, and New Mexico will get their taxes when I import my federal information into the state return.

As a Virginia non-resident, Virginia can only tax the investment itself; it can't tax my income earned in New Mexico.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

Sale of unimproved land

Yes, you must pay tax in both states. The cost of a tax program is not an expense of sale.

The Virginia taxable income of a nonresident individual, partner,shareholder or beneficiary is ... business income and loss, capital gains or losses (subject to the 60% long-term capital. VA non-resident

Fortunately, NM gives a credit for taxes paid to other states.

Does New Mexico offer a credit for income tax paid to another state?