Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tsundra
Returning Member

Virginia State LLC for 502A

This is my first time filing my small business taxes in the state of Virginia. In the past I have used an accountant to do it. In the past the accountant used form 502 but this year TT is saying that I need to submit for 502A. My accountant hasnt done that in past.  All of my business takes place in the state of Virginia. Nothing from outside states.  What have I done wrong that is telling TT that I need form 502A?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
JeffreyR77
Expert Alumni

You can go into TurboTax Business and revisit the State tab

Verify you have selected Virginia as State Where Incorporated or Organized on the Virginia General Information Page.

If Virginia is selected, continue through the interview until you reach the Uncommon Virginia Situations screen and verify the Commercial domicile is not in Virginia is not selected.

I too am having problems with the 502a issue.  Both screens are marked as you suggest.  However, in review before filing, it is trying to force me to enter one of the section a options (they are turned pink as if I should enter something but none of them relate to me).  Is there a way to get past this review link or override it?  Is this a TT software issue?  The only reason I'm using the software is to electronically file the simple 502 and vk1 files since the state requires it.  So far, a waste of money.

Austin

JeffreyR77
Expert Alumni

In the upper right corner of your display is a toggle between Forms and Step by Step Mode. 

Go into Forms mode and select the 502A form from the list on the left side of the screen.