Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

State Tax remote worker NY company living in MN

Hi!

I live in MN and work remote for a company based in NYC. Have lived in MN all year, and only worked from home. Their payroll system did not have the option to include MN state taxes, so they witheld NY state taxes instead.. Do I fill out two state tax returns, one for MN and one for NY? If so, I'm confused about this question in the NY state tax return: "Were all of your wages and/or your self-employment income earned in New York State?"

This is my first time doing taxes, and I made under 10k last year.

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

New York follows what's call the "convenience of the employer" rule meaning many telecommuters must pay NY income tax if their employer considers their "office" to be the company's NY location, even if you step foot in the building.

NY says, "If you do not meet the requirements to be a resident, you may still owe New York tax as a nonresident if you have income from New York sources."

If you are positive you are not supposed to pay NY income tax, then say NO to "Were all of your wages and/or your self-employment income earned in New York State?" 

Click Edit next to your W-2 on Your Form W-2 Summary.

Select "Allocate by Percentage."

The New York State Percentage will be 0.

Consider filing NY by mail with a note explaining that your employer withheld NY tax in error. Enclose a copy of your MN return showing all your income was reported to MN.