Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

akf3
Level 2

South Carolina - Received K-1 for small taxable income, tax withheld already - do I need to file SC NR return

I'm reading the SC filing requirement for a non-resident and I am still confused.   As a Non-Resident of South Carolina (I'm a California resident), I received a K-1 with:

• $357 taxable income  
  • $18 tax was already withheld on the $357 income, as a non-resident partner
  • Also have ~$14K of Ordinary Business Loss and Net Real Estate Income Loss 

I see that $357 income is way below the SC standard deduction.

Do I need to still file a SC state NR income tax return?  thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

South Carolina - Received K-1 for small taxable income, tax withheld already - do I need to file SC NR return

South Carolina does not have a minimum filing requirement so you are obligated to file a state income tax return.

South Carolina says:

A nonresident individual receiving South Carolina income from wages, rental property, businesses, or other investments in South Carolina, must file an SC1040 South Carolina Individual Income Tax Return and Schedule NR Nonresident Schedule. 
See Code Sections 12-6-1720 and 12-6-2220.

Additionally your question is unclear about whether the business and rental losses are South Carolina-based. If so, filing a state return will record your net operating loss for state tax purposes.

See: SC TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDUM #87-6

akf3
Level 2

Thank you very much - also for pointing me to the specific section of the Code and memorandum.