Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

brianblb

Passive activity loss not allowed on California return. Shows as an adjustment on form 540

I am a real estate professional and some of my losses are allowed on my California return but some are not.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
TerryA
Intuit Alumni

Passive activity loss not allowed on California return. Shows as an adjustment on form 540

California doesn't conform to federal's real estate professional provision, so all rentals are passive. You may be eligible for the special allowance if you have Active Participation. See the Calif Form 3801 Part II.

for real estate profession Turbo tax did not allow losses and were treated passive losses and carried forward for California. This year ,2019  Turbotax (Home and Business version)  treats it differently and has given all the past and current losses as deduction  for state (california). I think there is a bug in programming.

KrisD15
Expert Alumni

If you were using Schedule E, the losses would not be carried. 

If now using Schedule C, they would. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

why it should not be carried for  Schedule E?

DaveF1006
Expert Alumni