Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Attend our Ask the Experts event about Extension Filers on Sept 25! >> RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Online College Instructor for a Nebraska college, but I live full-time in Michigan. Do I have to file a Nebraska return?

I am an adjunct instructor for a Nebraska community college, but only teach online and I live full-time in Michigan. I perform NO work in Nebraska. Do I have to file a Nebraska return?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

14 Replies
MaryK4
Expert Alumni

Online College Instructor for a Nebraska college, but I live full-time in Michigan. Do I have to file a Nebraska return?

No, if you did not work in the state of Nebraska you would not be required to report the income there as a nonresident.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Great news! But I do receive a W-2 from the Nebraska based college. Does that change things?

Additional info:

It appears that they did not withhold any taxes for the State of Nebraska.  Box 17, "State Income Tax" is blank.

I always report this income from the college on my Michigan tax return.

TeresaM
Expert Alumni

The wages are taxed where the work is performed, so if you were in Michigan when you did the work, it will not be taxable in Nebraska, even if the payor is located there.

If they had withheld tax for Nebraska, you would have needed to file a return to have that refunded, so it was helpful they did not. You can request their payroll to withhold Michigan taxes, if you wish. 

TomD8
Level 15

Be aware that Nebraska Regulation 22.003.01C(1) states: