Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Not Eligible for NJ State Electronic Filing

I've been using TurboTax for many years and have had no issues filing my federal and state taxes electronically.  With respect to trying to submit my 2019 tax year returns in 2020 however, TurboTax would only allow me to e-file my federal return (which I was able to do successfully), while indicating that I was not eligible for filing my NJ state return electronically and thus would need to file that return by mail. 

Apparently the reason for e-file ineligibility was as follows, "Returns using inherited on the federal return for acquired date for Schedule B or NJ1040NR, Part I, are not eligible for electronic filing".

The issue in question relates to the sale of a house in Florida in September 2019 that my two brothers and I inherited from our mother who passed away in February 2019, where her limited assets (which included her home) went through the probate administration process. The proceeds from the house that sold were split evenly (1/3 each) and we each received 1099-S forms for the real estate transaction with the apportioned gross proceeds.  I recorded the corresponding information in TurboTax when filling out my federal return.  My understanding is that TurboTax transferred the relevant information for the inherited house (and corresponding sale of the asset) from my federal return to my NJ state return which apparently led to the message indicated above that prevents me from e-filing my NJ return.  Just curious if the inability to e-file for this particular issue applies to NJ only or to some or all other states?