Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Maintained permanent residence in PA, but lived and worked in OH from May 2018-November 2019

I was an intern in Ohio from May 2018-October 2018, and then joined AmeriCorps and served in Ohio from November 2018-November 2019. I lived in PA my whole life until moving to Ohio. I don't think I was ever a "permanent resident" of Ohio, and I moved back to PA in November after my AmeriCorps service ended. How should I answer the questions about what state I lived in in 2019 and when I became a PA resident?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

Maintained permanent residence in PA, but lived and worked in OH from May 2018-November 2019

Since you maintained a PA residence, indicate (in the personal info section) that you lived in PA all year.  Your time in OH was only temporary, the same as if you attended school there.

In the personal info section, when it asks if you made money in another state, answer NO, per the reciprocal state instructions, on that page. This will prevent TurboTax from thinking you need to file an OH return.

Ohio has a reciprocal agreement, on wages, with all neighboring states. No Ohio state taxes are withheld or due and you do not need to file an OH return. But your home state will tax you on your Ohio income.

If Ohio taxes are mistakenly withheld, you have to file an Ohio return to get a refund.