turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a resident of Michigan. I earned money while staying in Ohio in 2020. Columbus city tax was taken out, do I have to file a Columbus city return?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

I am a resident of Michigan. I earned money while staying in Ohio in 2020. Columbus city tax was taken out, do I have to file a Columbus city return?

Q. Do I have to file a Columbus city return?

A.  No, but you may want to. See below*.   The only time a non resident is required to file a city return is when an improper amount was withheld and that is very rare.

Although MI & OH have a reciprocity agreement on state taxes, that agreement does not apply to city tax.  Columbus is allowed to withhold from your pay and you cannot get that refunded.  

*But, Michigan will give you credit for that on the state return, but you have to attach a copy of the city return. So, even though the Ohio city does not require you to file a return, you have to file one to get the MI credit, even though there will be no tax due or refunded from the Ohio city.  

Columbus forms (you want IR-25) https://www.columbus.gov/IncomeTaxDivision/TaxForms/Individuals/

View solution in original post

8 Replies
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

Yes. Per the State of Ohio, non-residents who work or conduct business in Columbus owe 2.5% tax on the income they earn in Columbus and must file IR-25. Although Michigan and Ohio have a reciprocal agreement on wages, it does not include city returns.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"