Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How can I enter part time residency for California state return? I moved from Canada to California on August 1st, 2021.

My state of residence going forward will be California. However, I do not believe I owe tax on income received outside of California while I did not live in California. But Turbotax is not prompting me to fill out a 540NR. They are assuming I have been a resident of California for the entire year.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
MaryK4
Expert Alumni

How can I enter part time residency for California state return? I moved from Canada to California on August 1st, 2021.

The 540NR is for nonresidents or part-year residents,  You want to be sure to file as a part-year resident- you will be able to indicate the dates of residency.  Part-Year residents pay tax on income earned while a resident or any California income received while a nonresident.  Note:  California prepares the part-year resident return as if you were a full-year resident, then applies the CA tax to the part pf the year you were a resident.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you so much for the response!

So I don't seem to be getting prompted by TurboTax if I was a part-year resident in my state return.

- At the beginning of filling out my TurboTax information it asks me for the resident state I was in on December 31, 2021. For that I input California. Should this instead be a foreign country/US possession?