turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Help! How do I determine which state I was a resident of?

I worked in Missouri for 7 months in 2022. Since I was laid off, I moved in with my Parents in Arizona for the remaining 5 months as I looked for a new job. I don't know which state my new job will be in. For income tax purposes, how do I determine my state of residence? Missouri makes sense as I worked there and I am in Arizona only temporarily. Arizona may make sense because my driver's license is from Arizona; however, I have never worked in or gone to school in Arizona. 

Help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies

You do not need to file an AZ return since you did not work or earn income in AZ.  File a part year return for MO.

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Thanks! However my W2 shows my AZ income to be the same as all of my income for 2022 and shows no MO income. I called my company, and they say they are sending me another W2 which will show my AZ income = my MO income = all my income for 2022. When I asked them to explain that apparently illogical statement, they said they are escalating the issue to explain their logic. 

Wait---now the story changes.  You said you were laid off and did not work in AZ and just lived with your parents while you looked for a job.  Now you say you have a W-2 with AZ wages on it.    smh