turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kevolivas
Returning Member

Help, every time I try to complete my taxes it says it "didn't go through". This is my first time doing this and I am kinda scared. I am an international student. Help.

I've done it all: paid what was needed and entered my refund information. When I try to "e-file" it says that it "is having difficulty recognizing the data in the return you are sending". I've double-checked everything and everything is right.

At the end, when filing, it asks for 2018 tax info but I don't have any (I didn't have taxes that year). Then it proceeds to ask for a way of identification, Driver's ID or State ID, but I am an international student and don't have any.

Please help me, I am truly nervous and scared. I don't know how to proceed.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

Help, every time I try to complete my taxes it says it "didn't go through". This is my first time doing this and I am kinda scared. I am an international student. Help.

@ kevolivas  wrote:  "I am an international student."

First you need to determine if you can even use TurboTax to prepare a return.     TurboTax can only prepare returns for US citizens and "resident aliens for tax purposes."   What is your citizenship status?   If you are not a US citizen, then you need to know how you are classified for tax purposes.    TurboTax cannot prepare returns for non-resident aliens, since it cannot prepare the Form 1040NR/NR-EZ.    If it turns out you are a non-resident alien, then TurboTax has an affiliate partner Sprintax (one "t") that prepares returns for international filers who need Form 1040NR/NR-EZ.

1. What country are you from?