Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Employer mistakenly withheld NY taxes instead of NJ

I am a NJ resident.

My company is based in NJ , some client offices are in NYC.

This March we were supposed to move to NYC client offices but due to the ongoing pandemic it never happened.

I am working from home since mid-March 2020.

In November I've noticed that my employer withholds NY taxes from my paycheck since March.

Apparently , they received an update about our move to NYC and updated payroll accordingly.

No one contacted me to verify the move.

When I raised the issue with my company, they said that payroll stubs cannot be corrected retroactively.

They then said that I will get my money back when I file taxes.

They refused to provide an official letter explaining the situation.

Several questions:

1.  Should I insist on an official letter for IRS? I never lived or worked in NY , yet taxes were paid to NY. 

2.  Will I be able to file NY non resident tax return while claiming $0 income in NY state ?

3. I read about similar cases and general advice is to file NY non-resident first, then NJ resident. Is this correct in my case?

Any other things I need to do/be aware of  to get my money back ( NY taxes are higher than NJ)

Thanks in advance

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

The IRS doesn't care which state taxes were withheld for. The IRS only handles your federal tax return. For state taxes you have to deal with the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance and the New Jersey Division of Taxation.