Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Employer automatically withdraws NY state tax, but I'm a permanent resident in Florida. Will NY refund my state taxes when I file for 2021?

Thanks for the help! I moved to Florida in 2020 and became a permanent resident there, having bought a home (my primary and sole residence) in Miami. I work remotely for my employer's NY office, and my employer automatically continues to withdraw NY state tax from each paycheck. Will NY State refund my state taxes when I file for 2021, given that I'm a FL resident the entire year and spend no time in NY?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Employer automatically withdraws NY state tax, but I'm a permanent resident in Florida. Will NY refund my state taxes when I file for 2021?

@ridetimeless18 wrote:

SO helpful, thank you very much, sir! So for all the tech companies that closed their offices for the year and required remote work, the out of state work would be at the employer's convenience, not the employee's, correct? You're the man, thanks again. 

Generally, yes.  If the company required workers to work remotely, the income would not be subject to the "convenience of the employee" rule.  You should ask HR to change your state withholding.  However, if the business reopens their offices and invites workers back, and you choose to continue to work remotely, you will probably be subject to the convenience rule again.