Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

creditech
Returning Member

Problem with ALLOCATE BY PERCENTAGE...doesn't accurately reflect

Hey guys, 

1.  I lived and earned income in NY State for 1 month in 2021--January.

2.  The other 10 months of the year, I lived in Florida

3.  When I try an allocate which percentage of my income I made in NY by typing in 18, the total income still shows 100% of my income as a resident of NY.  The software doesn't update my change correctly.

4.  I was a Senior Field Technician on the ground in Florida.  My W2 lists the corporate HQ in NY for my employer, but my work required me to work from a warehouse on the ground in Florida. It was not remote. 

Can someone tell me how to fix this issue please?  Thanks

Form IT-203

Allocate Wages by Percent

Enter the percentage of this W-2 income from XXX Inc that should be included in New York State taxable income.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

TurboTax will not display the allocated amount on the wage allocation screen but will transfer the info to Form IT-203 in the New York State amount column.

You will also see your New York allocation percentage on the screen Let’s Review Your New York Numbers. Look for the New York Income Factor under Taxes.

Last, you should have seen your refund/balance due to NY change when you did the allocation.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
creditech
Returning Member

Thank you!

creditech
Returning Member

Hi, 

On Let's Review Your New York Numbers

1.  It only subtracts 8k from my Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AFGI)