turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Part-time resident in NY and NJ, W2 withholdings suggest a later move date than my actual. What should I file with?

I originally lived in NY, but moved out to NJ around March. My employer is in NY. I was originally expecting the move to be temporary but it became permanent for the year of 2020.

Based on my payslips, I notified my employer of the change around October of that year. On my W-2, boxes 15-17 put around 25% of my earnings as NJ wages (with 0 tax on them) and 100% of my earnings as NY wages.

When filling out my return, Turbotax asks for how long I was a resident of New York and asks me to calculate how much of my earnings were earned while in New York (as a fraction of how long I lived there) and the same for New Jersey. If I take the March date as when I made the move, a much larger fraction of my earnings would be NJ wages than the W-2 indicates.

Should I be filling my state returns based on the date of my original move, or would that cause issues?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

Part-time resident in NY and NJ, W2 withholdings suggest a later move date than my actual. What should I file with?

If you continued to work in New York after moving to New Jersey, then 100% of your wages are still taxable to NY. All that changes is the resident and nonresident portion.

For example if you made $12,000 ($1,000/month), you can change from $10,000 (Jan-Oct) resident wages and $2,000 nonresident wages to $3,000 (Jan-Mar) resident and $9,000 nonresident wages, but all the income is still taxable to NY.