Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tom_kozak61
Returning Member

PA state tax

Hi I am a full year resident of PA and collected some unemployment from NY. I did the NY non resident return and was taxed on my investment income. I am filling my PA return and they are also taxing my same investment income. Is there a way to get a credit from PA on this investment 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

PA state tax

Investment income is generally not taxable to nonresidents unless it is related to employee stock. NY unemployment received by a nonresident is taxable to NY.

If your investments are taxable to NY you can claim a credit on your PA return. Go to Credit for taxes paid to other states.

PA does not tax unemployment so you can't claim a credit for tax paid on unemployment. You'll have to manually adjust the numbers. For example, if your NY income was $10,000 and $8,000 was unemployment and $2,000 was investment income, then you would report $2,000 as income to PA for the tax  credit and 20% of the NY tax based on the income percentage ($2,000/$10,000).

Learn more: New York State Tax Treatment of Stock Options, Restricted Stock, andStock Appreciation Rights Receiv...

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
tom_kozak61
Returning Member

PA state tax

Yes this was helpful. Do I take the credit on the income or the tax? I think it’s the income 

DianeW777
Expert Alumni

PA state tax

You take credit for the tax paid in a nonresident state. Here is how the 'other state tax credit' works: